Thursday, December 27, 2018

WBCS Polity and Constitution MCQs Prelims and Mains

History of Modern India - Objective Questions & Answers P2

11. Tebhaga Movement was the last major farmer uprising happened in
(A) Bengal
(B) Bihar
(C) Maharastra
(D) Hyderabad.

Correct Answer: [A] Bengal.

12. In 1835 an initiative was taken to establish Calcutta Medical College by
(A) Lord Curzon
(B) Lord Dalhousie
(C) Warren Hastings
(D) Lord William Bentinck.

Correct Answer: [D] Lord William Bentinck.

13. Bal Gangadhar Tilak was given the title of Lokmanya after initiation of
(A) Puna Sarvajanik Sabha
(B) Arjyabandhab
(C) Shivaji Festival
(D) Home rule League.

Correct Answer: [D] Home rule League,
Explanation: Tilak formed the Home rule league in Maharastra(Poona) in 1926. The first president of this league was Joseph Baptista. Tilak became very popular with this organization that people gave him the epithet of Lokmanya. He was also known as 'Father of Indian Unrest'.

14. Raksha Bandhan was observed as a symbol of unbreakable unity, introduced at the time of
(A) Jalianwalabag Masacare
(B) Partition of Bengal
(C) Session of Indian Nation Congress
(D) Swadeshi Movement.

Correct Answer: [B] Partition of Bengal.
Explanation: Raksha Bandhan was started by Rabindranath Tagore 16 October 1905, To show Hindu, Muslim unity against the event of Bengal Partition. It was the same day when Bengal was partitioned by Lord Curzon.

15. Set goal of Self Government or Swaraj was decided in 1906 at the session of the Indian National Congress. It was organized in
(A) Kolkata
(B) Bombay
(C) Lahore
(D) Lokhnou.

Correct Answer: [A] Kolkata.
Explanation: The president of this session was Dadabhai Naoroji. Here Swaraj doesn't mean complete independence but self-government under British rule.

16. On the happening of Bengal Partition in 1905 Muslim League formed in 1906. First successful achievement of Muslim League was
(A) Separate Electorate
(B) Khilafat Movement
(C) Aligarh University
(D) Faraizi Movement.

Correct Answer: [A] Separate Electorate.
Explanation: Following the demand of the Muslim League a separate electorate was provided for Muslims. Where a Muslim candidate only votes for Muslims. It was provided in 1909 following an act of the British parliament. It was popularly known as Morle-Minto reform.

17. The only Indian who was the president of the United Nation General Assembly
(A) J. L. Nehru
(B) Tejbahadur Sapru
(C) Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit
(D) J. P. Narayan

Correct Answer: [C] Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit
Explanation: She was the only Indian who held this post until now. She was the first woman president of this assembly. She was the sister of J. L. Nehru.

18. The first woman who became the chief minister of an Indian state was Sucheta Kripalani. She was chief minister of Which state?
(A) MP
(B) UP
(C) Delhi
(D) Haryana.

Correct Answer: [B] UP.

19. Gandhi was arrested during salt satyagraha in 1930. Who had taken the place of Gandhi after he was arrested?
(A) Sarojini Naidu
(B) V. Patel
(C) J. L. Nehru
(D) Abbas Tyabji

Correct Answer: [D] Abbas Tyabji.
Explanation: Abbas Tyabji who also served as chief justice of Boroda. He was respectfully called 'Grand old man of Gujarat'. This time Gandhi was kept in Yerwada Jail.

20. In 1928, Vallabhai Patel was actively lead the Bardoli Satyagraha in Gujarat. The protest was against
(A) Raises of taxation at the time of suffering from flood
(B) Indigo Cultivation
(C) Mill owner and to support mill worker for raises of wages
(D) for the integrity of the nation.

Correct Answer: [A] Raises of taxation at the time of suffering from the flood.

Page:  1 2 3 4 5 6  7  8 

You can also visit:

Follow us:
Youtube ChannelStudy Like A Pro



Post a Comment