Saturday, September 29, 2018

WBCS Polity and Constitution MCQs Prelims and Mains

Gupta Period MCQ For WBCS, SSC CGL, Rail

Welcome to another MCQs set on Gupta Periods. It will particularly helpful for WBCS, SSC CGL, Rail and other Govt Exams. We have tried to explain thing in details and hope you liked it and share with your social media so that we get the benefit of writing this awesome articles. 

1. Allahabad pillar inscription carved by  [WBCS-2000,05,11,12]
(a) Harisena
(b) Ravikirti
(c) Rudradaman
(d) Banabhatta

Correct Answer: [A]
Explanation: Allahabad pillar inscription was written by Harisena. He was a court poet of Samundragupta. The inscription is also known as Prayaga Prasasti. It was written in Sanscrit with Nagari script.
Rudradaman ‘s achievements are mentioned in his Junagarh inscription. Aihole inscription was written by Ravikirti. Kadambari and Harshacharita were authored by Banabhatta(court poet of Harshavardhana).
2. Si-Yu-Ki was authored by [WBCS-2000]
(a) Huen - Tsang
(b) Fa- Hien
(d) I-Tsmg

Correct Answer: [A]
Explanation: Huan-Tsang was a chines traveler who came to Indian during 630 CE in the time of Harshavardhana. He was in India for 14 years. During this time he has studied Hindu and Buddhist religious text from Śīlabhadra for five years. He mentioned the Harshavardhana as the greatest king of north India and Pulokesin II as the greatest king of south India in his book Si-Yu-Ki. 

3. The famous mathematician  during Gupta a was   [WBCS-2000]
(a) Kalhana
(b) Aryabhatta
(c) Rudrasena
(d) Bhabadhuti

Correct Answer: [B]
Explanation: Aryabhatiya and Surya Siddhanta were written Aryabhatta. He belongs to Gupta period. He is credited with the invention of the decimal system and zero. He told for the first time that the Earth is not static, it rotates around the sun. 
4. The greatest scholar of Medical Science of ancient India was [WBCS-2001]
(a) Rudrasena
(b) Barahamihir
(c) Charaka
(d) Bagabhatta

Correct Answer: [C]
Explanation: Charaka was one of the major contributors to Ayurveda, and written a book on medical science the Charaka Samhita. He was born around 300 BC. 
5. Fo-Kuo-King Was authored by whom?  [WBCS-2004]
(a) It-Tsing
(b) Fa-Hien
(c) Hiuen Tsang
(d) Megasthenes

Correct Answer: [B]
Explanation: Fa-Hien/Faxian was a Buddhist traveler from China, who came to India during Chandragupta II and written Fo-Kuo-King. 
6. Who was the court poet of Samudra Gupta [WBCS-2008]
(a) Asvaghosha
(b) Nagarjuna
(c) Aryabhatta
(d) Harisena

Correct Answer: [D]
Explanation: Samudragupta was the greatest ruler of Gupta dynasty. He was called Napoleon of India by V. A. Smith. He was a follower of Vaishnavism but tolerant of other religions.
7. Who was the founder of the Gupta dynasty? [WBCS-2009]
(a) Chandragupta
(b) Srigupta
(c) Samudragupta

Correct Answer: [B]
Explanation: Gupta empire was emerged around the late 3rd century and brought Magadha under the control of founding member Srigupta. He was succeeded by Ghototkacha Gupta. The empire got prominent under the control of Chandragupta I (319-335 CE).

8. Which emperor has been called Napoleon of India? [WBCS-2009]
(a) Asoka
(b) Kanishka
(C) Samudragupta
(d) Chandragupta II Vikramaditya

Correct Answer: [C]
Explanation: Samudragupta was the greatest king of Gupta dynasty and called the Hero of Hundred Battles and Napoleon of India. He never faced defeat in any battle in his life. 
9. To which period of Indian history did Aryabhatta and Varahamihira (Scientist and
Mathematician respectively) belong
(A) Maurya period
(B) Gupta Period
(C) Pala Period
(D) Sultanate Period

Correct Answer: [B]
10. Who composed the Allahabad Prasasti
(a) Asvaghosha
(b) Nagarjuna
(c) Harisena
(d) Vasumitra [WBCS-2011]

Correct Answer: [C]

You can also visit:

Follow us:
Youtube ChannelStudy Like A Pro



Post a Comment