Thursday, January 24, 2019

WBCS Polity and Constitution MCQs Prelims and Mains


1. Who was the editor of 'Bande Mataram'?
(A) Madam Cama
(B) Aurobindo Ghosh
(C) Both of them
(D) None of them.

Correct Answer: [C] Both of them.
Explanation: Bandemataram was published by Aurobindo Ghosh in India, whereas in Parish (London) it was published by Madam Bhikaji Cama.

2. Who introduced the railways and telegraphs in India?
(A) Lord Ripon
(B) Lord Canning
(C) Lord Dalhousie
(D) Lord Hardinge.

Correct Answer: [C] Lord Dalhousie.
Explanation: Lord Dalhousie served as the governor-general between (1848 to 1856).
  • It was 1853 when rail was started between Bombay (Mumbai) and Thane. He was the father of Indian Railways.
  • In 1850 an experimental electric telegram was started between Dimond Harbour and Kolkata and opened for EIC in 1852 between Kolkata and Agra.
  • He was also credited for introducing postage stamp in 1852.
  • He annexed the state Punjab.
  • The Doctrine of Lapse principle was introduced by him which lead to Sepahi Mutiny in 1875.
  • In 1856 widow remarriage act was passed during his tenure.

3. The first Newspaper which was published in India was titled
(A) Madras Courier
(B) The Calcutta Chronicle
(C) The Bengal Gazette
(D) Bombay Herald.

Correct Answer: [C] The Bengal Gazette.
Explanation: Hicky's Bengal Gazette (The Bengal Gazette) was also known as The Original Calcutta General Advertiser. It was a weekly newspaper in the English language published from Calcutta (now Kolkata). It was the first newspaper printed in Asia by James Augustus Hicky. It was also popularly known for its strong critic against the British administration in India and promotion of the anti-war and anti-colonial rule in India.

4. In 1835 an initiative was taken to establish Calcutta Medical College by?
(A) Lord Dalhousie
(B) Lord William Bentinck
(C) Warren Hastings
(D) Lord Curzon.

Correct Answer: [B] Lord William Bentinck.

5. Bal Gangadhar Tilak was given the title of Lokmanya after initiation of
(A) Arjyabandhab
(B) Home rule League.
(C) Shivaji Festival
(D) Puna Sarvajanik Sabha.

Correct Answer: [B] Home rule League.
Explanation: Tilak formed the Home Rule League in Maharastra (Bombay provincial congress at Belgaum) in April 1916. The first president of this league was Joseph Baptista. Tilak became very popular with this organization that people gave him the epithet of Lokmanya. He was also known as 'Father of Indian Unrest'. The popular magazines were published by Tilak was Kesari in Marathi language and Maratha in the English language.

6. Who founded the Atmiya Sabha?
(A) Keshab Chandra Sen
(B) Debendranath Tagore
(C) Ram Mohan Roy
(D) Shibnath Shastri.

Correct Answer: [C] Ram Mohan Roy.
Note: It was 1815 when Atmiya Sabha was founded by Rammohan Roy. He was known as 'Father of Indian Renaissance' and 'Herald of new age'. Mughal emperor Akbar-II give him the title 'Raja'. In 1828 he found Brahmo Sabha which changed to Brahmo Samaj in 1830. With the effort of Raja Rammohan Roy, a regulation (Regulation XVII) was passed by Lord William Bentinck to prohibit the practice of Sati in 1929. He established "Hindu College" in 1817, Anglo-Hindu school in 1822 and Vedant College in 1826. The Hindu College latter changed to Presidency College in 1855 (now Presidency University). The newspaper and magazines were published by him are Sambad Kaumudi (in Bengali, 1821), Mirat-ul-Akhbar (in the Persian Language, 1822)

7. Set goal of Self Government or Swaraj was decided in 1906 at the session of Indian National Congress. It was organized in
(A) Bombay
(B) Lucknow
(C) Lahore
(D) Kolkata.

Correct Answer: [D] Kolkata.
Explanation: The president of this session was Dadabhai Naoroji. Here Swaraj doesn't mean the complete independence but self-government under British rule.

8. On the happening of Bengal Partition in 1905 Muslim League formed in 1906. First successful achievement of Muslim League was
(A) Khilafat Movement
(B) Faraizi Movement.
(C) Aligarh University
(D) Separate Electorate.

Correct Answer: [D] Separate Electorate.
Explanation: Following the demand of the Muslim League a separate electorate was provided for Muslims. Where a Muslim candidate only votes for Muslim. It was provided in 1909 following an act of British parliament. It was popularly known as Morley-Minto reform.


  1. It will be very helpful if you can add some details with the answer.

    1. We are in progress in doing this. Please stay tuned. Thank you for visiting us!


Download Apps

 Download Apps on Google Play