Monday, June 10, 2019

WBCS Polity and Constitution MCQs Prelims and Mains

WBCS 2019 Prelims MCQ on Modern Indian History P6

Modern Indian History

126. Which of the following movements immediately followed the partition of Bengal?
(A) Non-cooperation movement
(B) Swadeshi movement
(C) Civil disobedience movement
(D) Ghadar movement
Correct Answer: [B] Swadeshi movement

127. The Rowlatt Act was passed in the year
(A) 1917
(B) 1919
(C) 1921.
(D) 1923.
Correct Answer: [B] 1919

128. The idea of Pakistan was first conceived by
(A) Muhammad Iqbal
(B) M.A. Jinnah
(C) Shaukat Ali
(D) Aga Khan
Correct Answer: [A] Muhammad Iqbal

129. Kuka movement is associated with which of the following states?
(A) Assam
(B) Bengal
(C) Punjab
(D) Maharashtra
Correct Answer: [C] Punjab

130. Who said — `The Simon Commission Report should be thrown on a heap of rubbish''?
(A) M. K. Gandhi
(B) Shivaswami Ayyar
(C) Muhammad Ali Jinnah
(D) Jawaharlal Nehru
Correct Answer: [B] Shivaswami Ayyar

131. Which day was declared as the Direct Action Day by the Muslim League?
(A) 3rd September 1946
(B) 16th August 1946
(C) 16th May 1946
(D) 4th December 1946
Correct Answer: [B] 16th August 1946

132. 6th April 1930 is well known in the history of India because this date is associated with
(A) Dandi March by Mahatma
(B) Quit India Movement
(C) Partition of Bengal
(D) Partition of India
Correct Answer: [A] Dandi March by Mahatma.

133. Which battle established the supremacy of the British rule in India?
(A) Battle of Plassey, 1757
(B) Battle of Buxar, 1764
(C) 3rd Mysore War, 1790-92
(D) 4th Mysore War, 1799
Correct Answer: [B] Battle of Buxar, 1764.

134. The Khilafat movement was started by
(A) Muhammad Ali Jinnah
(B) Dr. Zakir Hussain
(C) Fakruddin Ali Ahmed
(D) Ali Brothers
Correct Answer: [D] Ali Brothers.

135. Who once remarked — 'Nehru is a patriot ' while Jinnah is a politician.'?
(A) Maulana Azad
(B) Mahatma Gandhi
(C) Sir Mohammad Iqbal
(D) Abdul Gaffar Khan
Correct Answer: [C] Sir Mohammad Iqbal

136. Which Act was known as 'Black-Bill'?
(A) Rowlatt Act
(B) Pitt's India Act
(C) The Regulating Act
(D) Indian Council Act.
Correct Answer: [A] Rowlatt Act.

137. The famous Pakistan resolution was passed at
(A) Lahore
(B) Delhi
(C) Bombay
(D) Lucknow.
Correct Answer: [A] Lahore.

138. Which important event immediately preceded, the Jallianwala Bagh massacre?
(A) Communal Award
(B) The arrival of Simon Commission
(C) Non-cooperation movement
(D) Rowlatt Act enactment.
Correct Answer: [D] Rowlatt Act enactment.

139. In which session did the Indian National Congress declare Poorna Swaraj (Complete Independence) to be its goal?
(A) Lahore, 1929
(B) Lucknow, 1916
(C) Tripuri, 1939
(D) . Bombay, 1940
Correct Answer: [A] Lahore, 1929.

140. The provision for separate electorate for Hindus and Muslims was made in
(A) Government of India Act, 1935
(B) Montague Chelmsford reforms
(C) Minto-Morley reforms
(D) Mountbatten Plan
Correct Answer: [C] Minto-Morley reforms

141. Who set up the Indian Independence League?
(A) Rash Bihari Bose
(B) Subhas Chandra Bose
(C) Mahatma Gandhi
(D) Jawaharlal Nehru.
Correct Answer: [A] Rash Bihari Bose.

142. The first session of the Indian National Congress was presided over by
(A) Surendra Nath Banerjee
(B) Womesh Chander Banerjee
(C) Aurobindo Ghosh
(D) Bipin Chandra Pal.
Correct Answer: [B] Womesh Chander Banerjee.

143. When was the Non-cooperation movement suspended?
(A) 1918
(B) 1920
(C) 1922
(D) 1924
Correct Answer: [B] 1920

144. At which session of the Indian National Congress was `Vande Mataram' sung for the first time?
(A) 1920 session
(B) 1906 session
(C) 1896 session
(D) 1922 session
Correct Answer: [C] 1896 session.

145. Which leader died on the day the Non-cooperation movement was launched in 1920?
(A) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(B) Lala Lajpat Rai
(C) P. Sita Ramayya
(D) C. Rajagopalachari.
Correct Answer: [A] Bal Gangadhar Tilak.

146. Where did the Congress working committee first accept the idea of Quit India Movement?
(A) Wardha
(B) Benaras
(C) Calcutta
(D) Delhi
Correct Answer: [A] Wardha

147. The famous INA trials took place at the Red Fort, Delhi in
(A) 1945
(B) 1946
(C) 1947
(D) 1948
Correct Answer: [A] 1945

148. Where was the Provisional Government of Independent India (Azad Hind) formed?
(A) Singapore
(B) Tokyo
(C) Berlin
(D) Rome.
Correct Answer: [A] Singapore

149. Who is the founder of the Ghadar Party?
(A) Lala Lajpat Rai
(B) Lala Hardayal
(C) Bhagat Singh
(D) Kunwar Singh
Correct Answer: [B] Lala Hardayal

150. Who founded the 'All India Harijan Samaj ' in 1932?
(A) C. R. Das
(B) Subhas Chandra Bose
(C) Jawahar Lai Nehru
(D) M. K. Gandhi
Correct Answer: [D] M. K. Gandhi

Go to Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

WBCS Prelims 2019 Answerkey Download:

Download WBCS Prelims 2019 answer key in PDF format. It contains 200 MCQ questions on Indian History, Indian National Movement, Indian Geography with Special Reference to West Bengal, General Science, Indian Polity and Economy, English, General Mental Ability, Current Events of National and International Importance.



Post a Comment