Sunday, February 3, 2019

WBCS Polity and Constitution MCQs Prelims and Mains

Modern History of India MCQs for WBCS, SSC, RAIL, State PSC, UPSC P13

121. Who founded the Asiatic Society
(A) Minto
(B) Wellesley
(C) W. Hastings
(D) Sir William Jones.

Correct Answer: [D] Sir William Jones.

122. The Times of India was first published in
(A) 1862
(B) 1858
(C) 1875
(D) 1861.

Correct Answer: [C] 1875.

123. Where did Bhil revolt take place?
(A) Satara
(B) Khandesh
(C) Chhotonagpur
(D) Singbhum

Correct Answer: [C] Chhotonagpur

124. Who among the following was an ardent advocate of prepaid railway construction in India?
(A) Robert Montgomery
(B) Lord Northbrook
(C) Lord Dalhousie
(D) Lord Canning.

Correct Answer: [C] Lord Dalhousie.

125. The 1st Factory Act (1881) was passed by
(A) Lord Cornwallis
(B) Lord Ripon.
(C) Lord Curzon
(D) Lord Wellesley

Correct Answer: [B] Lord Ripon.

126. Who introduced Permanent Settlement?
(A) John Shore
(B) Lord Bentinck
(C) Lord Cornwallis
(D) Warren Hastings.

Correct Answer: [C] Lord Cornwallis.

127. The custom of 'Sati' was banned through legislation in the year
(A) 1829
(B) 1858
(C) 1795
(D) 1800.

Correct Answer: [A] 1829.

128. Who was the First Governor General of independent India?
(A) Lord Wavell
(B) Lord Mountbatten
(C) Chakravarti Rajagopalachari
(D) Clement Attlee.

Correct Answer: [B] Lord Mountbatten.

129. Who was the first Secretary of the Brahma Sabha?
(A) Prasanna Kumar Tagore
(B) Dwarkanath Tagore
(C) Chandrasekhar Deb
(D) Tarachand Chakraborty.

Correct Answer: [D] Tarachand Chakraborty.

130. The most important leader of 'Prati Sarkar in Satara was
(A) Aruna Asaf Ali
(B) Nana Patil
(C) Chittu Pande
(D) Achyut Patwardhan

Correct Answer: [B] Nana Patil


Post a Comment