Saturday, November 24, 2018

WBCS Polity and Constitution MCQs Prelims and Mains

The Important Constitutional Body in India For Govt Exams

The designation or the post which are formed time to time as mentioned in the Constitution of India is called Constitutional Body. The most important constitutional bodies are discussed below.

  • Elections Commission

    • Discussed in part 15 of the Indian Constitution
    • Article 324[2] - Election Commission is formed with one chief member and two assistant members.
    • Article 324[1] - Election Commission will conduct and administrate the elections for central and state legislature (Loksabha and Rajya Sabha in the center and State Legislative Assembly(Vidhan Sabha) and State Legislative Council ( Vidhan Parishad)  as well as elections for president and vice president.
Tenure 6 years term or 65 years old whichever earlier.
Appointment Appointed by President. First time formed on 25th January 1950.
Impeachment By parliament with a special majority. 
First Chief  Election Commissioner Sukumar Sen

  • Union Public Service Commission (UPSC):

    • Article 315 - Formation of UPSC
    • Appointment: Appointed by President
    • Members: Consist of one Chairman with a maximum of 10 members ( in total 11 members)
    • Tenure: 6 years term or 65 years age whichever earlier
    • The scope of work: Creating all India employment.
    • Impeachment: If the misconduct is provided in the Supreme Court then the president can impeach one or many members. The members can resign to the president.
    • Present Chairman: Arvind Saxena

  • Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG)

    • Appointment: Appointed by the president following article 148
    • Tenure: 6 years term or 65 years age whichever earlier
    • Impeachment: Impeached by parliament with a special majority.
    • The scope of work: Auditing ( They have been freed from account maintenance in 1976)
    • First CAG: V. N. Rao

  • Attorney General of India

    • Article 76 - Appointed by the president, one who is equally eligible to be a judge of the supreme court.
    • Tenure: Doesn't have any fixed tenure. 
    • Specialty: It is the only post holder who can participate in any session of the central legislator without a voting right. Attorney General is the highest law officer of the central government. 
    • Current Attorney General: K. K. Venugopal
    • Work as a layer of Central Government when central government involved in any case in the Supreme Court or High Court.

  • Finance Commission

    • Article 280 - Formation of Finance Commission. Firs time formed in 1951. 
    • Appointment: In every five years the president appoints members of the Finance Commission. They report to the president and the report is forwarded to the parliament by the president 
    • Members: It consists of one chairman and four other members. 
    • The Scope of work: Advisory body to the central government. Advice how to distribute money between center and state which have been collected from the tax. Advice on what basis a grant in aid to be provided to a State from the consolidated fund of India. 
    • Current Chairman: Dr. Y. V Reddy ( for 14th Finance Commission for 2015-2020 and chairman of 15th Finance Commission is N. K. Singh for 2020-2025)

You can also visit:



Post a Comment